How To Delete Your Gmail Account

Are you tired of using Gmail as your official email account? Or do you want to switch your official email address from Gmail to another email platform?

Gmail as we are all aware of, is one of (if not) the most used email platforms in the world. As of October 2019, Gmail had 1.5 billion active users from all the countries around the world.

Most corporate and state companies use Gmail as the preferred email platform. For example, the University of Ghana’s students and staff’s email is powered by Gmail. For example, [email protected]

Once you make a choice and delete your Gmail account, all your emails and account settings will be permanently erased from the internet. Even if you delete your account, your username will still not be available for anyone to use in the future.

On the good side, deleting your Gmail account is not going to delete the entire Google account the email address is associated with. Google services like Google Drive, calendar, Google Play, etc. will still be accessible for you.

All you be asked is to provide an alternative email address you will like to sign in to these services in the future or whenever you may need it.

How To Delete Your Gmail Account

Before you decide to delete your Gmail account, make sure you are aware of the risks associated with it and that you have all the important documents and files you may need in the future.

Once you are certain that you have all that you need, you can then follow the steps below to permanently delete your Gmail account.

  1. Open your web browser and sign in to your Gmail account via Google.com.
  2. On the upper right-hand corner, click on the Grid icon and then select Account.
  3. Under the Account preferences section, click on Delete your account or services.
  4. From the options provided, choose Delete products.
  5. Confirm your choice by entering your Gmail password.
  6. If you want some important data, click Download Data to save it before it gets erased permanently.
  7. On the next page, click the trash icon that is next to Gmail.
  8. Enter an alternate email address. (This email address cannot be a Gmail)
  9. Click on Send Verification Email. (This will be sent to the email address you just entered in the step above).
  10. Open the verification email and then click on the deletion link in the message.
  11. In case you are prompted, log in to the Gmail account you are deleting.
  12. Select “Yes, I want to delete ([email protected])”
  13. Once again click on Delete Gmail and then Done.

Conclusion

According to Google, if you use your Gmail through work, school, or other organization, the administrator is the only person who can delete your Gmail account. Thus, you need to contact him/her to delete your account for you.

After your Google account is deleted, all your account information will be permanently deleted from the internet’s database.

So, before you decide to delete your account, make sure you are certain of the choice you are making and its related consequences.

Thank you for making Mfidie.com Ghana's Biggest Tech Blog.
You are the reason we produce quality digital content. Scroll down to read more on Mfidie.com.
Follow us on TwitterFB, IG, Telegram & YouTubeWe accept Guest Posts. If you’d like to write for us, contact us for PR or to submit an article click here.

Leave a comment

Get Content like this First

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.